When Did Georgia Tech Win the National Championship?

Georgia Tech fans are always looking for bragging rights. When did Georgia Tech win the National Championship?

Checkout this video:

1992 Season

Georgia Tech football team won the National Championship in 1992. The Yellow Jackets had an undefeated season with a record of 11-0-1. They defeated the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the FedEx Orange Bowl to claim the title. Georgia Tech was coached by Bill Curry and the team was led by quarterback Shawn Jones.

Regular season

The 1992 Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets football team represented the Georgia Institute of Technology in the 1992 NCAA Division I-A football season. The team’s coach was Bobby Ross. Georgia Tech played its home games at Grant Field in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Yellow Jackets won the national championship with an 11–0–1 record. They defeated Nebraska in the Federal Express Orange Bowl, 18–17, after Safety Will Peckham collapsed Heisman Trophy-winning running back Tommy Vardell’s two-point conversion attempt with 1:18 remaining in the game.


After an undefeated regular season, the Yellow Jackets were selected to play in the Sugar Bowl on January 1, 1993, against the #3 seed Nebraska Cornhuskers (10–2). In one of the most lopsided bowl games in history, Tech destroyed Nebraska by a score of 45–21. This game is best remembered for Cortez Hankton’s 80-yard touchdown reception late in the 3rd quarter.

2006 Season

The 2006 season was the most successful in Georgia Tech football history. The team went undefeated in the regular season and won the ACC Championship. They then went on to beat Notre Dame in the Fiesta Bowl to win the national championship.

Regular season

The 2006 college football season began on August 31, 2006 and ended on December 30, 2006. Bowl games were played in early 2007. The Bowl Championship Series (BCS) bowl games were played on January 1 and 8, 2007. Later bowl games included the Meineke Car Care Bowl, Texas Bowl, Motor City Bowl, Emerald Bowl, MPC Computers Bowl, Independence Bowl, Holiday Bowl, Sun Bowl and Liberty Bowl. The season saw two new bowl games debut: the International Bowl and the Armed Forces Bowl.

The BCS National Championship game was held on January 8, 2007 at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The Florida Gators defeated the Ohio State Buckeyes to win their second national championship in three years. Florida quarterback Tim Tebow won the Heisman Trophy during his sophomore season.


After an 11–1 regular season that included a number of close games and some lucky breaks, Georgia Tech was selected to play in the FedEx Orange Bowl against the sixth-ranked Louisville Cardinals, who had only lost one game all season. The game was seen as a matchup of two of college football’s up-and-coming programs. The Cardinals were in their third season under head coach Bobby Petrino, while the Yellow Jackets were led by second-year head coach Chan Gailey.

2009 Season

The Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets football team represents the Georgia Institute of Technology in the sport of American football. The Yellow Jackets team competes in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Coastal Division of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC). The team plays its home games at Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field in Atlanta, Georgia.

Regular season

The 2009 NCAA Division I FBS football season saw the formation of two new conferences–the Big East Conference and Conference USA. The season began on September 3, 2009 with South Carolina defeating NC State in the first college football game played at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina. The regular season ended on December 5, 2009 with the Army–Navy Game. The bowl season began on December 19, 2009 and later ended at the 2010 BCS National Championship Game on January 7, 2010 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

It was also the last season for the Big 12 Conference as four of its members left to join two new conferences that started up in 2010 (the other Big 12 members would join with two other schools to form a new conference that kept the Big 12 name). It was also the last season for Interim head coach Everett Withers of North Carolina as he became the head coach at James Madison University after the Tar Heels’ bowl game.


The 2009 college football season ended with generally favorable bowl results for teams from the Southeastern Conference (SEC). The Alabama Crimson Tide defeated the Texas Longhorns 37-21 in the Rose Bowl, while the Florida Gators routed the Cincinnati Bearcats 24-10 in the Sugar Bowl. The SEC placed a record eight teams in bowl games, and seven of those teams won. In fact, all but two of the SEC’s bowl representatives (the Arkansas Razorbacks and Mississippi State Bulldogs) won their postseason contests.

Scroll to Top